top of page

August 25-31

HIIII GUYS. (3 weeks strong now, are you surprised? I certainly am.)

I did not get to see Molly on Friday bc apparently I can’t operate the Maps app and I hate myself for it. My team also didn’t end up going to the sumo wrestling festival, but we went to dinner instead and got to meet Manon’s boyyyyyyfriend and eat chocolate cake. Still haven't eaten a dessert that wasn't stupid delicious.

Not seeing Molls was the worst part of my week, other than that it was pretty bomb. Me, Michaela, Z, and her mom took off after our lift on Friday to visit Z’s aunt and uncle who live on an airbase in Germany that is not 30 mins away from Wiesbanden (where Molly lives). Those people might be the nicest/most generous people I’ve ever met. They had a BBQ already set up for us when we got there Friday night and took us to Heidelberg (where Merete used to live/visit?…small world) on Saturday. We all tried schnitzel and German beer at lunch…which resulted in 4 very happy and definitely tipsy girls touring the Heidelberg castle. My slightly drunk imagination was working in overdrive envisioning princesses and whatnot. This castle has what has to be the biggest wine barrel in Europe. It looks like a ship. There is a dance floor on the top of it. Also on the drive there (shoutout to Z for driving the entire time btw), Michaela got rotisserie chicken flavored Lay’s. I don’t know if those are exclusive to Europe or if they’re sold in America, but they were damn good.

This week I had my first serious ‘what the hell am I supposed to do’ moment. I tweeted about it, obviously. Apparently Spotify only allows you to stream music abroad for 14 days. And on Saturday I had officially been here for two weeks. So Spotify locked me out. I will admit that I overreact about basically everything, but I felt justified in being pretty freaking upset about not having access to music. I don’t consider myself particularly musical/having great taste or anything like that, but I do listen to music a lot. And Z and I have only found two radio stations. Not stations that play American music, just two stations that aren’t fuzzy. After tweeting a cry for help, multiple people came to the rescue. The power of social media. I learned that you can change your country of origin in your settings and things will go back to normal. The new challenge is buying Spotify Premium. You have to pay with a card that is from the same country as your country of origin…my Swiss debit card doesn’t work online…. Ah. Help, again?

I would like to announce that I went grocery shopping this week and did my laundry (in my own apartment) and did not hit anything with the car. On the downside, the president of our club has officially seen the scratch marks.

Last night at practice, we essentially spent the first hour running. They try to convince us that some of it is ‘warm up games’ but I know better. (Filipe, I know you read my blog, just know - I’m on to you.) I died but it was fun. Tonight we have an event instead of practice. From what I have gathered, we’re going to be on stationary bikes and competing with the local hockey team. We’re given a task like showering or making a smoothie that requires energy and as a team we have to bike the rate and distance that it would take to generate that power. Personally I think that the volleyball-hockey match up is a little unfair but we will see how we do. Is the saying, “the legs feed the wolf,” from Miracle? Did I make that up?

Random things:

  1. Thank you Matt Aiello for having the most entertaining Snapstory of the week with an in depth analysis of Disney families with a side of gender norms discussion.

  2. We went to lunch with the NUC President (shout out to Jo and Gigi, don’t know if that’s how you spell it) and tried tartare for the first time. We had a salmon one and a beef one and I am a huge fan. I could eat salmon tartare every day. SO GOOD GUYS. SO GOOD.

  3. Since Stanford played Minnesota at 1 pm on Sunday I got to watch and I was an absolutely insane soccer mom (but volley). I lost my mind when Audriana blocked the last ball. Z says I didn’t wake her up, but I think she’s lying to make me feel less crazy. Holy crap, I miss you guys. I’m slightly proud that I appear to be the last average-tall right side blocker.

  4. Z’s mom left yesterday morning. I miss you already Carla. We are officially on our own. Z has already roasted an entire chicken and vacuumed the apartment. I have watched 4 episodes of Gilmore Girls and written this blog.

Someone eat a Chic fil a sandwich for me.

Adios mis amigos,

- Bugg


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page